Rose State University students receive awards; Honored OKCPS student

Rose State College receives awards

Rose State College was recognized by the Oklahoma College Public Relations Association (OCPRA) for his creative imagination related to the college’s marketing and public relations efforts.

“The creative and talented team that makes up Rose State’s Marketing and Public Relations Department consistently delivers high-impact, quality work,” said Jeanie Webb, President of Rose State.

Rose State’s winning entries included:

  • General Poster Design, Achievement Award, Workforce Poster
  • Traditional Sports Photo, Excellence Awards, Softball Photo
  • Logo design, honorable mention, Foundation logo entry
  • Small Brochure, Awards of Excellence, Business and Information Technology (BIT) Brochure and Support Cards
  • Before and After, Honorable Mention, BIT Brochure and Rack Cards
  • Before and After, Achievement Award, Billboard
  • T shirt design, honorable mention, engineering t shirt design
  • Cover Design, Award of Excellence, Annual Report Cover

For more information about Rose State College, call 405-733-7673.

Place of OC students in the national competition of the “Own us” campaign

Oklahoma Christian University students placed seventh in the nation in a contest aimed at encouraging students and voters to address our country’s debt crisis.

Launched in 2012, the “Up to Us” campaign is a national, intentionally non-partisan college program aimed at raising awareness of federal tax issues. The OC campaign was led by the Eagle PR team, led by Danica hammockpublic relations student.

Danica Hammack, a public relations student at Oklahoma Christian University, led a team that was honored as one of the top 10 campaigns in the 2022 Up to Us national contest to inspire students and voters to take action on debt from the country.

The winning campaigns were determined by their ability to engage their peers, use of creative strategies, earned efforts and social media and overall campaign impact.

The team members were Hammack, of Modesto, California; Chris Meyerof Mustang; Kelly Webber Foxxfrom Broken Arrow; Jaidyn Ahlfrom Meridian, Idaho; Taylor Hankinsof Fort Smith, Arkansas; Emma Higginbottomfrom Rochester Hills, Mich.; Cassidy Littlewoodof Springfield, Missouri; makiley rhodes, of Lufkin, Texas; and Kaitlyn Willis, of Sekiu, Washington. The academic advisor for the campaign was OC associate professor of communication Josh Watson.

To learn more about Eagle PR, visit

OKC student honored as Presidential Scholar

Aishwarya Swamidurai, a 2022 graduate of Classen School of Advanced Studies High School in Northeast, was honored at the Oklahoma State Board of Education meeting.

Aishwarya Swamidurai, a 2022 graduate of Classen School of Advanced Studies High School in Northeast, was honored at the Oklahoma State Board of Education meeting. She received a commendation as a Presidential Scholar from Superintendent of Public Schools Joy Hofmeister and the Oklahoma State Board of Education.

Since 1964, the Presidential Scholars Program has recognized high school students for their achievements in academics, arts, careers, and technical education.

“I am delighted. It is such a great honor to be recognized in this way,” said Aishwarya Swamidurai. “I plan to go to Princeton University next year to major in politics or public affairs.”

To be considered for this column, please email achievement announcements and photos to [email protected]

Comments are closed.